Pahlaj Nihalani will be the new chairperson of censor board

January 19, 2015

The Ministry of Information and Broadcasting announced the appointment of Pahlaj Nihalani as the new chairperson of central board of film certification (CBFC). Mr. Pahlaj Nihalani was appointed for a period of 3 years. Other eminent persons who have been named as members are film writer Mihir Bhuta, Syed Abdul Bari, Ramesh Patange, actor George Baker, actor-filmmaker Jeevitha and actor-playwright S Ve Shekhar. Earlier, after Censor Board chief Leela Samson, nine more members of Censor Board resigned on Saturday.

Pahlaj Nihalani at Mother Teresa Award

About Pahlaj Nihalani

Pahlaj Nihalani is a film producer. He has produced films like “Shola Aur Shabnam”,“Andaz”,“Aankhen” and “Talaash: The Hunt Begins…” in the past. The censor board also known as Central board of film certification (CBFC) is a statutory body for censorship. It comes under the ministry of Information and broadcasting government of India. It regulates the public exhibition of films under the provisions of the Cinematograph Act 1952. As per the Cinematograph Act, the board shall consist of a chairman and not less than 12 and not more than 25 other members appointed by the central government. Before Samson had resigned as chairperson, apart from her there were 23 other members on the board panel.

Also See
Daily GK and Current affairs – 16th January 2015

Leave a Reply