HS Brahma will beome the new Chief Election Commissioner of India

January 14, 2015

Mr. VS Sampath the present chief election commissioner of India will retire on thursday. After his exit Harishankar Brahma will become the next chief election commisioner. Mr. Brahma is a 1975 batch IAS officer of Andhrapradesh cadre. He is a former Union power secretary and was one of the three election commissioners of India. HS Brahma hails from Assam. After J.M Lingdoh he is the second person to become the chief election commissioner.
Read – Latest GK and Current affairs updates from 10th January to 13th January

hs brahma chief election commissioner

About HS Brahma the new chief election commissioner

Mr. HS Brahma held various senior level posts in government of india and state government. These posts include District Collector & Magistrate, Commissioner, Municipal Corporation of Hyderabad, Commissioner (Transport) & Ex-officio Secretary, Commissioner & Ex-officio Secretary and
Principal Secretary Government of Andhra Pradesh. He was also ministry of power, joint secretary border management. During his four year tenure he completed all the border infrstructural work in India-Pakistan and India-Bangladesh border. He also worked as Special Secretary & Additional Secretary in National Disaster Management Authority ( Ministry of Home Affairs). He was the Member-Secretary of the State Electricity Board, Andhra Pradesh.

Other Recent posts – Pranab Mukherjee signed ordinance amending mmdr act 1957

Prabhunath Dwivedi to get Sahitya Akademi award 2014

Leave a Reply