Christiano Ronaldo wins Ballon d’Or 2014

January 13, 2015

One night after the declaration of Golden globe award winners it was the turn of football’s biggest award “The Ballon d’Or”. This year the award was won by Portugeese footballer Christiano Ronaldo. It was his 2nd consecutive Ballon d’Or award. He recieved 37.66% of total votes as compared to his close contenders Lionel Messi (15.76%) and Manuel Neuer (15.72%). The Real Madrid forward was chosen for scoring 56 goals in 51 club matches among them a competition-record 17 in Real’s Championship League winning campaign.

Cristiano Ronaldo ballon d'or

List of winners

Ballon d’Or – Cristiano Ronaldo
Puskas (best goal) Award – James Rodriguez (Colombia v Uruguay)
Women’s World Player of the Year – Nadine Kessler
World Coach of the Year for Men’s Football – Joachim Low (For guiding Germany to win the worldcup.)
World Coach of the Year for Women’s Football – Ralf Kellermann
Presidential Award – Hiroshi Kagawa (A journalist awarded for making football popular in Japan. He was the oldest journalist at 2014 worldcup finals and the 10th one he had covered.)
Fair Play Award – FIFA volunteers

Fif Pro World football XI

Manuel Neuer (Ger/Bayern Munich), Sergio Ramos (Esp/Real Madrid), Thiago Silva (Bra/Paris SG), David Luiz (Bra/Paris SG), Philipp Lahm (Ger/Bayern Munich), Andres Iniesta (Esp/Barcelona), Toni Kroos (Ger/Real Madrid), Angel Di Maria (Arg/Manchester United), Arjen Robben (Ned/Bayern Munich), Lionel Messi (Arg/Barcelona) and Cristiano Ronaldo (Por/Real Madrid).

 About Ballon d’Or

An annual award given by FIFA to the male player considered to have performed the best in the previous calendar year. It is based on the votes from national team coaches and captains, as well as journalists from around the world. The award started in 2010 after France Football’s Ballon d’Or and the men’s FIFA World Player of the Yearaward were merged. The winner of the inaugural 2010 FIFA Ballon d’Or was Lionel Messi. After the merger, the FIFA World Player of the Year award became a women-only award.

Leave a Reply