Latest GK and Current affairs updates from 10th January to 13th January

January 13, 2015

Important GK and Current affairs updates covering all the latest events between 10th January to 13th January.

Gk and Current affairs – National

current affairs updates

1. PM Narendra Modi Inaugurates Vibrant Gujarat Summit.
Explanation –
i) 7th Vibrant Gujarat Summit was inaugurated in Mahatma Mandir, Gandhinagar.
ii) Inaugural ceremony was attended by United Nations General Secretary and US State Secretary John Kerry.

2. Israel Agriculture Minister Yair Shamir said, Israel was likely to open these centres in the states of Haryana, Maharashtra, Punjab, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar and West Bengal.

Gk and Current affairs – International

3. Kolinda Grabar won the Presidential election of Croatia.
Explanation –
i) Ms. Kolinda was the Former Assistant Secretary General at NATO and former Croatian ambassador to the United States.
ii) She will take charge of the President office on 19th February 2015 thus becoming the first female President of Croatia.

current affairs updates Maithripala_Sirisena

4. Sri Lanka‘s newly-elected President Maithripala Sirisena will make his first State visit overseas to India.


5. A ‎German‬ newspaper,The Hamburger Morgenpost‘s office attacked in Hamburg for re-printing Charlie Hebdo cartoons.

current affairs charlie hebdo

Business and Banking current affairs

6. RBI inks deal with European Central Bank (ECB).
Explanation –
i) The aim of the deal is exchange of information, policy dialogue and technical cooperation between the two institutions.
ii) Reserve Bank of India Governor, Raghuram Rajan, and Mario Draghi, President of the European Central Bank (ECB) signed an agreement.

7. Kotak Mahindra Bank launched Jifi Savings.

kotak jifi
Explanation –
It is a social savings bank account that can be managed via Twitter and Facebook. It will earn savings interest rate offered to all savings account holders and is available in 27 cities across the country at present.


8. Yu Min honoured with State Preeminent Science and Technology Award 2014

yu Min - State Preeminent science and technology award 2014
Explanation –

Regarded as the father of China’s Hydrogen bomb he solved the critical problems while making nuclear weapon. To know more click on the link provided above.

9. Scientist M.Y.S.Prasad chosen For Vikram Sarabhai Award
Explanation –
i) Dr. Prasad is selected for his outstanding contribution to R&D in the field of space science in his long and chequered career at the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO).

10. 72nd Golden globe awards 2015 concluded successfully. “Boyhood” bagged maximum 3 awards.

golden globe award 2015

Explanation –

The prestigeous award recognizes the excellence in film and television. The jubilant event of the award ceremony was concluded at Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly, California. The 72nd edition of the event was hosted by Tina Fey and Amy Poehler. See the complete list of winners at Golden globe award 2015 for Movies and Television


11. Christiano Ronaldo wins FIFA Ballon d’Or 2014.

Persons in news

12. Modibo Keita became the new Prime Minister of Mali.
Explanation –
i) Modibo Keita was chosen the Prime Minister of West African nation Mali. He replaced Moussa Mara.
ii) His appointment was confirmed by Mali’s President Ibrahim Boubacar Keita.
iii) Keita had previously served as the Secretary General of the Presidency of Mali.

13. Sindhushree Khullar Appointed As First CEO of NITI Aayog.

7th january 2015 sindhushree khullar
Explanation –

i) Ms. Khullar is a 1975 batch UT cadre IAS officer. She was the Secretary of Planning Commission in 2012.
ii) Also, Mr.Bibek Debroy, former DRDO chief VK Saraswat appointed full time members. The ex-officio members include Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitly, Suresh Prabhu and Radha Mohan Singh.

14. Thomas Kurian elected president of Oracle group.

15. Kiran Kumar Alur Seelin appointed ISRO chairman.
Explanation –
i) He would be the secretary of the department of space as also the chairman of space commission.
ii) Mr. A S Kiran Kumar, director, Space Application Centre, appointed secretary department of space, and chairman space commission for three years.

Important Current Affairs questions and their answers will be published in our upcoming posts. Stay connected with us for latest updates.

Leave a Reply